I’m considering finding a place where I can post a personal ad:

Lonely American Girl Wants Friends

Likes: Cartoons, Promotional Pens, Naps, Pie, That Part in Kill Bill Part 2 When David Carradine Makes a Sandwich

Dislikes: Anime, Promotional Pins, Exercise, Onions, That Part in Deathproof with the Inappropriately Tarantino-esque Dialogue

No actual similarities between us necessary. Can guarantee no direct insults until third or fourth week of friendship.

I hope you don’t have to pay by the letter.

Am considering hand-writing several and posting them in random places in the Aro Valley.

Especially the Anarchy House. Which has its own blog:

128wellington.wordpress.com/

It looks like this:

though generally at a considering higher angle

though generally at a considerably higher angle

It hosts an anarchist bookshop and a bike repair shop. Also several rooms for backpackers. All free. Oh, and there’s a sign on the side of the house facing the street that says “If Prisons Worked There Wouldn’t Be Any.”

I love the Anarchy House. I sincerely hope one day I am able to befriend or at least stalk (in an endearing way) one of its residents.

Almost a month into my stay in Wellington, the first thing that I really, deep-in-my-gut miss strikes me as odd. I’m sorry to report it’s not my parents or my cats or my friends or my sister or even Chuy’s

food of the gods

food of the gods

It’s The Daily Show.

We don’t have a TV here. And our wireless cap is so small that it wouldn’t be worth spending the rest of the month at dial-up speed for me to stream a weeks’ worth of episodes.

It’s worth stating that if you think TV is horrible and mind-numbing and is making everyone in the world stupider, you’d better stop reading now, because you’re going to lose all respect for me. I hate a lot of shows. But I am fucking wild about good TV. I apologize in advance to anyone who might choose to read on. The rest of this is, in fact, about how much I love The Daily Show. Apparently it’s more than even I thought.

I didn’t grow up with The Daily Show the same way I did with The Simpsons. The Simpsons started roughly a year after I was born, it bonded my sister and I as friends during a point in our lives when we should have hated each other and argue constantly. It’s so present in my life and my interactions with my family that it’s almost a member of the family itself (maybe that’s why it’s so easy for me to forgive missteps and shitty episodes–“oh, but they’re just trying, they’re doing their best. Better still watch, out opf solidarity”–or why I feel particularly defensive of certain episodes or writers–“the Armin Tamzarian episode didn’t ‘ruin the series’ as certain nerds might have you believe. In fact, it was a brilliant and brilliantly written episode. And Mike Scully didn’t destroy anything. He’s a fantastic comedy writer and he did a stand-up job during the seasons he show-ran”).

I was eleven when Jon Stewart started hosting The Daily Show (which is to say: when people started giving a shit about The Daily Show). Having watched The Simpsons since I was old enough to pay attention to what was happening and, as a result of Fox’s weekday evening line-up and the old black-and-white TV my sister secretly purchased with saved allowance money for our room, Seinfeld for almost as long. Josie and I started watching Saturday Night Live, David Letterman, and Conan O’Brien not long after purchasing our secret TV. We got a satellite dish when I was about nine and, already something of a comedy nerd in the making, I was automatically drawn to basically everything on Comedy Central. I didn’t care about the news when I was eleven. But of course I watched The Daily Show. I eventually had to start following the news so I could understand the more subtle, referential jokes on The Daily Show. It made me a better, more informed person.

For me, The Daily Show is more like a close friend. The people I went to elementary school with, that I sort of half-associated myself with in my very-young childhood, were changing in their adolescence, growing up ever so slightly, enough so that we could recognize similarities in each other, things which distinguished us from everyone else. By the time I was thirteen, I was close with the people I consider my closest friends today.

Obviously, The Daily Show hasn’t remained the same over the past decade. They’ve cycled through correspondents, dealt with serious issues no one ever thought a news parody show would address, become an incredibly prominent culture figure. But it’s still Jon Stewart, similar enough to the person he was when I was eleven so that we still connect, but different enough that I can appreciate him and his show in a newer, better way.

my friend Jon

my friend Jon

